Scanning

Scanning

Posted by Andrew Gaiennie on Jun 1, 2011 11:28 am

How hard is it to match point clouds so I don't need targets on a jobsite? And where can I go to learn about using scanners?

Re: Scanning

Posted by Rusty Chain on Jun 1, 2011 11:58 am

Weren't you pretty set on starting a business predicated on providing scanning data as a consultant to engineering and surveying companies just a few weeks back?  If you were prepared to set yourself up as a consultant, I would think that you already have these answers.

If you don't have the answers, I'm sure that Falk or Wimbush (does he ever make an appearance here? Is he still in Africa?) can answer them well.

Posted by mwimbush on Jun 1, 2011 12:12 pm

Still in Africa

Posted by MLB on Jun 1, 2011 2:53 pm

Andrew- I think what you are referring to is called "Mesh Creation". All of the vendors have training available on the software that performs this operation. Trimble had one on line, but I haven't checked it recently. Perhaps you had best wait until Professor Falk weighs in.
MLB

Posted by RADU on Jun 1, 2011 7:32 pm

I watched a demo in 2004 in Oregon conference where traversed around a building joining clouds from common points/areas and no survey control. Simply a software issue.

As Micheal B said it called meshing.

RADU
RADU VALUE ADDING SURVEYOR

Posted by Mike Falk on Jun 2, 2011 7:40 am

Cloud to Cloud registration is the term.

Meshing is a practice that is performed after registration. Meshing is putting a Mesh, or surface (TIN), over a point cloud

Are you having difficulty at your current employer? You may want to think about your previous choice "B"

Laser Scanning is a part of our profession that requires SERIOUS capital and time committment to be done well.

Posted by Mark Mayer on Jun 2, 2011 10:58 am

Andrew Gaiennie:
How hard is it to match point clouds so I don't need targets on a jobsite? And where can I go to learn about using scanners?