RPLS_Forums

Converting AECC points to Civil 3D Points

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: 06/30/10

Converting AECC points to Civil 3D Points

Posted by DJ Schwarz on Feb 1, 2011 1:57 pm

Here is the situation:
I am using Civil 3D 2010
I have a drawing from another firm that shows points
It appears that the drawing that I have was also created in Civil 3D
I am assuming that the drawing was exported to AutoCad 2010 or older

If you list a point, the point information shows up, ie..number, northing, easting, raw description, full description, layer....etc
They list as AECC_POINT
Civil 3D points list as ACEE_COGO_POINT
These points do not show up in any point groups
I have tried  converting them with all of the Civil 3D routines, but none work

Is there any way to export or convert these points to something I can use, either to import via .txt file or blocks?

Thanks,
Doug
  • Posts: 809
  • Joined: 07/02/10

Re: Converting AECC points to Civil 3D Points

Posted by Richard Sincovec on Feb 2, 2011 12:19 pm


AECC_POINT objects are Land Desktop points.  They should convert using the "Convert Land Desktop Points" command (Ribbon Home tab, "Create Ground Data" panel, click on the little arrow next to "Points").
  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: 06/30/10

Re: Converting AECC points to Civil 3D Points

Posted by DJ Schwarz on Feb 2, 2011 2:26 pm

Yes, sorry to have even posted this.  I thought that the conversion was in the export points menu instead of the create ground data.  Doesn't really make sense to me why it is there, but it is not the first time I have been baffled by something in a certain menu.  Got it fixed, just a pain to translate the codes from another outfit to ours.  The layer translator sure works nice on the linework.  Of course if it is not all on one layer like this one is.
Sort: