Obtain Surveying Degree to Become Licensed

Obtain Surveying Degree to Become Licensed

Posted by Crystal Thomas on Jun 29, 2016 2:16 pm

I am a licensed Professional Civil Engineer in NJ and would like to become a PLS.  I have the experience and the practical knowledge.  What I need is a "four-year degree from a board-approved curriculum" in order to recognized by my state as a Surveyor-In-Training, even if I do pass the FS.

There is only one college in NJ offering such a degree and it is still quite a distance from my home and office.  So I have been checking for online programs.  Does anyone have any knowledge of such a program that will satisfy the requirements of the licensing board?

Re: Obtain Surveying Degree to Become Licensed

Posted by Anthony Pesce on Oct 9, 2016 2:25 pm

Any luck getting answers to your question?  I'm in NY looking to get licensed. 

Posted by DANIEL SPAULDING_7 on Oct 13, 2016 2:39 pm

There is only a few that offer a 4 year degree. I know Texas A&M Corpus Christi offers a geomatics program that is completly online.

Also check out oklahoma state. I know they have an online program but I can't remember if it is a 2 or 4 year program.

Posted by Gerald Middleton on Jan 12, 2017 5:58 pm

Check your state board requirements, you're a PE now and I would assume have already earned a 4 year degree, and as such should have to obtain 'x' hours of survey related courses acceptable to your state board in order to sit for the Fundamentals exam. I've attached a list of courses offered at a bunch of schools nationwide, some online, some not...I've been told that most of the courses at Wyoming are offered online...
Attached Files

Posted by Crystal Thomas on Jan 12, 2017 6:05 pm

Gerald, thank you for your thoughtful response. That makes sense! I have already earned 9 credits in surveying coursework, am currently earning 9 more, and your suggestions will undoubtedly qualify me for a NJ PLS exam sooner than later.