Travelling Surveyor?

Travelling Surveyor?

Posted by TROY SILVA on Jan 8, 2017 5:46 pm

I've been surveying for 6 years or so and had some experinece prior. I am the field crew lead for a fairly small company on an island, we deal mostly with residential developement, staking property lines/setbacks/buldings, topo work, resource management, erosion monitioring, just to name a few, fairly small scale  In all honesty the job fell into my lap but it suprisingly fits my character quite well.
Lately I've been imagining a career in surveying that allows me to integrate my passion for travel and adventure with this skill that I've developed. I've done a decent amount of itnernational travel and wish to do more. My question is... If anyone sees this....

Are there opportunites to travel as a land surveyor? I realize there are of course postions overseas but what I am looking for are short term projects in different places. Ultimately I want to work toward being able to take jobs that last any where from 3 weeks to 3 months but would also allow me to take these jobs at will and allow me to spend a decent amount of time stationaary where I live. Im also wondering what the most efficient path to this goal would be. Are there any specific certifications that would help me in achieving this goal? In the interest of your time I'll end this inquiry here but basically what im looking for is advice on where to look and how to find jobs oversees, is it possible to travel and work as a land surveyor? I want to find creative new paths and opportunites where I can use this skill to work and travel and Im willing to do whatever it takes to make this happen.

Many Thanks

Re: Travelling Surveyor?

Posted by Alex Arguelles on Jan 13, 2017 9:37 am

Mr. Silva,

I don't know if what I'll share here is what you are looking for, but here are a few thoughts: